## Tokyo Institute of Technology and Its Alumni Association "Kuramae Kogyokai"



**Tokyo Institute of Technology** (President:Yoshinao Mishima) is a top tier university of science and technology, founded in 1881 as the first professional engineering school in Japan that located at Kuramae, in the center of Tokyo. (http://www.titech.ac.jp)

Since 1881

in the center of Tokyo. (http://www.titech.ac.jp) The Alumni Association **Kuramae-Kogyokai** (CEO: Etsuhiko Shoyama, Hitachi) was established in

1906 as an incorporated body that aims to promote science, technology and engineering. It helps about live 60,000 Institute alumni keep in touch with each other, with faculty members and students, and with the Institute. Kuramae Kogyokai strongly assists the Institute in its educational and research activities through tying university to industries and government. As representative research activities, we can raise, the discovery of conductive polymers by Hideki Shirakawa (Nobel Laureate), the invention of soft-core ferrite by Yogoro Kato and Takeshi Takei, the first demonstration of temperature insensitive quartz oscillator by Issac Koga, a single frequency semiconductor laser for long haul optical fiber communication by Yasuharu Suematsu, and so on. The invention of VCSEL by Kenichi Iga follows. (http://www.kuramae.ne.jp)

**Tokyo Institute of Technology** seeks to contribute to world civilization, peace and prosperity, and aims to develop global human capabilities par excellence, through pioneering research and education in science and technology, including

industrial and social management. The Institute, with 3 undergraduate schools, 6 graduate schools and 5 laboratories and many research centers, delivers the highest level of education and research in various forms. The number of students is around 10,000 including 5,000 graduate students. It employs around 1,700 staff including 1,100 faculty members.



Tokyo Institute of Technology

All the alumni in **Kuramae-Kogyokai** are very happy to congratulate Dr. Kenichi Iga, Former President of the Institute, for being awarded 2013 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science !